PDA

View Full Version : Learning Japanese

HoboMaster
November 30th, 2009, 12:52
I've been looking into learning Japanese, and I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me. I figure the best starting place would be taking Japanese at my college, but I was hoping people would have other suggestions for resources/learning tools, and maybe just some advice on the language itself.

Virus FM
December 1st, 2009, 11:17
The more I learn Japanese, the more difficult it gets. Every time you come to terms with how difficult a particular aspect of the language is, and you raise yourself to a new plateu, you are faced with new, unspeakable horrors. And it seems to never stop. I've been studying for 5 years now and am about to take (and fail) the 2nd level of the Japanese Language Proficiency Test.

My advice is, unless you are truly passionate about it, there are many other things/skills you could spend the time on and get much better at and be more marketable with. And even if you are passionate, if you are serious about mastering it, you will have to spend a significant amount of your life in Japan immersed in it, which of course isn't terrible if you're interested in Japan in the first place, but you sacrifice a lot of things by coming here.

For more practical advice, take the sequence of courses they offer at your college. If you don't run screaming after the second year, it's a good sign.

kamukamuume
December 1st, 2009, 23:49
I've been looking into learning Japanese, and I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me. I figure the best starting place would be taking Japanese at my college, but I was hoping people would have other suggestions for resources/learning tools, and maybe just some advice on the language itself.