PDA

View Full Version : Your Japanese study routine?

elleohelle
February 3rd, 2010, 11:07
How many hours a day do you study Japanese? What do you study?
Vocab drills? Review grammar? Practice Kanji? I have to be a little more structured in how I study if I want to pass JLPT 2.

UPGRAYEDD
February 3rd, 2010, 11:44
Kanji first thing in the morning. Next reviewing grammar points. Finish off with trying to read some articles at google news or tech blogs.

UPGRAYEDD
February 3rd, 2010, 11:45
At least 2 hours worth of study Monday - Friday. Depending on my work schedule.

On weekends I don't really study much. Just sit back and watch dramas or go to the capital and practice at bars.

vertigo_stick
February 3rd, 2010, 12:13
Workdays usually study at least 2 hours.

Lately I have been doing lots of Kanji study with my Kanji step book.

When I was prepping for 2-kyuu, first I went through my 2-kyuu grammar book once (どんな時どう使う), trying to do 1 lesson each day I studied it (usually finished about 4 lessons a week). Then when I was done with one run through, I went back through it again. I actually only barely finished the first run-through in time for the test.

I didn't study Kanji for 2-kyuu because I had a good handle on them, but I was studying kanji in general because I am a huge kanji nerd.

I did practice tests whenever I wanted to test my progress. For last year's December test I did one in September, then another in November, then about 3 in the week prior to the actual test (though I skipped the listening section on two of those because my listening was pretty together at that point.)

I think you have to make yourself focus on your weak points. I know that before the first time I took the JLPT (failed by about 9%) I let myself play too much in the stuff I was already decent at, and completely didn't prep for the reading section. After that failure (sub-40% score on reading/grammar) I bought, borrowed and used several books for grammar and reading prep.