PDA

View Full Version : Rejected by Interac - next step???

barnabythebear
March 5th, 2010, 22:12
Hiya all!

I recently received a rejection from Interac after applying for an ALT position online. I really want to make teaching in Japan happen for me, what are my next steps??

As I have no teaching experience or qualifications my first thought is to go and get a CELTA certificate and try and find some sort of teaching assistant position here in the UK. I'm quite happy to do volunteer work in schools too.

Also, is my age an issue? I'm 43, have I left it too late?

Any thoughts, options and personal experience greatly welcomed!

Many thanks

nige.

Crab
March 5th, 2010, 23:27
There are other companies other than interac. Age might be an issue, I don't know, but there will be a way to get over there. I've seen ALTs that are like 50.

Djordje
March 6th, 2010, 08:12
kill yourself.

patjs
March 7th, 2010, 21:40
how does one get rejected from interac??

AliDimayev
March 7th, 2010, 21:42
I'm 43, .

I think it's time you get a real real job.

Shirokuma
March 8th, 2010, 09:15
43 will be a tough number to get around in the non-university job market.

30 is generally a cut off point. Over 30 it gets tougher as the younger teachers will generally work in conditions that the older, more experienced etc.

No visa will also work against you.

Gusuke
March 8th, 2010, 09:53
You have to be a pretty big retard to get rejected from Interac.

miks
March 8th, 2010, 10:15
You have to be a pretty big retard to get rejected from Interac.
Or be 43.

OP you're too old for Interac.
Even for JET you had better have a damn good reason to be applying when you're over 35.

AliDimayev
March 8th, 2010, 10:17

Suicide is never an option.

Gusuke
March 8th, 2010, 10:21
20 year olds don't go for 43 years olds here, I know from personal experience despite not being 43.

Neb
March 8th, 2010, 11:34
20 year olds don't go for 43 years olds here, I know from personal experience despite not being 43.