PDA

View Full Version : To buy or not to buy - Electronic Dictionary.

Mei-garu
April 12th, 2010, 17:39
Hello senpais...

I am just a beginner level Japanese student. The only dictionary I have to learn Japanese is the the oxford beginner dictionary. As I go along in my studies, I find that there are many words that aren't included ( what did I expect from a beginning level dictionary right?). I'm considering to buy a better dictionary that I can use for a very long time.

However, thinking about the bulk and weight of most dictionaries and thinking about how long it takes to flip through the dictionary to find for a word, I am contemplating on getting an electronic dictionary.

But, do you think it is the right time to get one? or should I just buy a paper dictionary instead? What would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

AliDimayev
April 12th, 2010, 19:03
for you, i suggest getting a proper paper dictionary. and a good kanji (paper) dictionary.

once you become fluent with being able to look up words and kanji quickly, then move on to an electronic.

Mei-garu
April 12th, 2010, 21:47
for you, i suggest getting a proper paper dictionary. and a good kanji (paper) dictionary.

once you become fluent with being able to look up words and kanji quickly, then move on to an electronic.

Okay, thanks. Any recommendations on what dictionary I should buy? Thanks

ohheythere
April 13th, 2010, 10:04
I love a little program that's on the nintendo ds. you can draw in the kanji/kana and it uses the same engine as many of the electronic dictionaries, but for only 30 bucks. forget the name though.

UPGRAYEDD
April 13th, 2010, 10:25
If you think you will get serious about learning Japanese to a high level you really need to make the investment and get yourself an electronic dictionary and learn how to use it.

And by electronic dictionary I mean a dedicated one and not a cheap ds or iphone one.

jandek
April 13th, 2010, 11:09