PDA

View Full Version : I studied English hard.

kawyn
December 13th, 2010, 10:04
Or hardly studied English.

I have been marking a lot of work that has "I studied English hard" or "I played baseball hard"

"I studied hard" or "I worked hard" is correct but you can't add something between the "studied" and "hard" right? I have never herad of anything like that before I came to Japan.

The problem is, even my JTEs seem to think it is correct and when I googled it, I got gems like this:

Since I didn't study English hard in school, I don't understand it well.
(学生のころ一生懸命勉強しなかったので、英語はよくわかりません)
the link is here: Grammar Reference (http://www.alc.co.jp/myalc/wlsdata/bpr/grammar_v/grule13.html)

Seriously, this doesnt make sense right?
How do I explain this to people here without pulling my hair out?

Antonath
December 13th, 2010, 10:33
I think it comes out to something like "I studied hard at English". The problem comes because "English" and "hard" are different parts of speech. One is what you studied, the other is how you studied. The two can be used in the same place, but not combined.

kawyn
December 13th, 2010, 10:39
Thanks Ant!
Other replies will be greatly appriciated!

word
December 13th, 2010, 11:12
I'm not sure why you're considering this to be incorrect. "Hard" is an adverb here; while I personally hate this usage of the word in this context (it sounds stupid to me), it's not technically incorrect.

Take this example:

"I studied English diligently."

Makes sense, right? You understand that "diligently" is describing how you studied, not "English." However, as adverbs, "hard" and "diligently" are synonyms.

"I beat the student mercilessly."