PDA

View Full Version : Don't want to reign on your parade, anyone applying for 2005

Rycean
May 21st, 2004, 00:12
Hello there, first post on this forum but been readin it for a few days.

I am currently in my second year of uni and am applying for JET this september. I am very jealous of all you who are getting placements already if i could have applied last summer i would have, univeristy is great an all but constant examinations every year is beginning to get dull!

I was just wondering as alot of you seem to be current JET applicants i.e getting confirmations, are there any of you that are going to applying for next year (2005). If so, have you thought about anything that could make you stand out from the crowd as it were.

That goes for you who have been accpeted was there any advice you could give on things i should start or think about when applying. Say for instance a Japanese module or course (which i have already enrolled on for next year btw!!). Any help would be appreciative; been planning to do this for the last 2 years so would be gutted if i didn't get it. So the more gold stars i have under my belt the better!!!! :)

Thanks for your time!!

joe
May 21st, 2004, 00:29
I did a Japanese module this year and the year before. I got the impression in the interview that this was a good thing. I think one of the key points they are looking for is an interest in Japan and learning more about it so anything that shows this is a bonus. Also, if you're doing a Japanese module get the teacher (who i presume will be japanese) to write one of your references - they really liked that as well.
hope that helps
joe

one of my questions was 'who is next in line to the throne after the duke of york' (!! WTF who cares)

dobharrison
May 21st, 2004, 00:34