PDA

View Full Version : Right out of Uni

Doodlebug
September 22nd, 2011, 22:12
Is anybody applying whilst they are in their final year at university, is this rare or the norm, do people usually take time out before hand to. Also, as far as you know does it make any difference if my degree is a Non-Honors BA degree? I managed to fail a module and Im really not fussed about taking on a fourth year to get an honours

Cheers

Regards

- Doodle x

miss_doitsu
September 23rd, 2011, 00:20
It's the norm. Most people will be applying from university.
I *think* officially it doesn't matter but you know, JET is pretty competitive... you'll want to come off the best you can on paper, so...

dvae
September 23rd, 2011, 01:34
I decided to take a year out and apply for 2012 instead of 2011, mainly because my graduation is quite late (not until November) and really didn't want to miss it. It's also given me a chance to get some money saved up and take a TEFL course in preparation. I don't think the non-honours should affect your chances but competition is high so you should try to make the rest of your application as great as possible (which you should be doing anyway) to compensate.

miss_doitsu
September 23rd, 2011, 19:15
Your TEFL course will have little effect on your application, and you will most likely not use your skills should you be accepted. Just to warn you :-)

wicket
September 23rd, 2011, 19:32
the first time i did jet i only had 6 months' work experience out of uni. [aussies graduate in november, so i had to fill in the time until i left for japan the following july]. the second time i did jet i had 13 years' work experience.

it doesn't matter about the degree - it's to fulfill a visa requirement, that's all.

you've got as good a chance as anyone. just make sure there are NO stupid errors or motherhood statements in your application.

wicket
September 23rd, 2011, 19:33
miss_doitsu, are you a current JET, ex-JET or aspring JET?

melty
September 23rd, 2011, 19:50