PDA

View Full Version : Age and appearance concerns about JET application

Murasaki Ookami
October 12th, 2011, 14:35
Okay first of all I couldn't find anything like this here so I thought I'd just post and hope for the best,
I plan on applying for the JET programme this year and was concerned about a couple of things,
First it’s the age factor I’m 32 what’s the average age of a JET?
Will my age go against me?

I have no reasonable level of Japanese; I could say a few words but no conversational skills, well in Japanese.

I have no teaching experience,

I have Facial piercings, and my ear is pierced too.

I have a beard.

I should also mention my hair is fairly long but I do plan on cutting it to about shoulder or a little longer in length.

While I have your attention I was also wondering if anyone knows the statistics for acceptance in Ireland number of application vs the places,
Is it worked on a quota that has to be filled or is it a matter of if there are only 24 suitable applications, then that’s all that goes, do they drop their standards to fill places?

Thanks in advance

Antonath
October 12th, 2011, 14:45
Age shouldn't be too big an issue. I was accepted when I was 29.

The facial piercings (and the ear piercings, as well) will definitely be an issue: you will be expected to remove them completely while you are at school. Some schools will also have an issue if you are seen in public with them, too; particularly if you end up in a small town. The japanese gossip network is all-knowing and all-seeing.

Beard shouldn't be a problem as long as it's tidy. Don't expect to grow it out further, though: there's something of an unwritten rule that your appearence (as relates to hair, etc) will stay pretty consistent.

Oh, and this will probably get moved to the "applying" section fairly soon...

uthinkimlost?
October 12th, 2011, 15:44
There are plenty of old and ugly people. No worries.

Murasaki Ookami
October 12th, 2011, 16:03