PDA

View Full Version : A few questions about a lack of experience...

Rickithly
November 4th, 2011, 00:55
Hello there. :)

I have a few questions if you can all help me.

First of all, I have no formal education in regards to Japan, or anything Japanese related, short of a brief look at the bombing of Japan during WW2 during one of my modules last year. Secondly, I have no teaching experience at all, though I do volunteer as a sort of Student Ambassador at my University (I am a sort of go-between for staff and students). Will these things count against me too heavily on my application? It has been worrying me all week. http://www.jetprogramme.org/forums/images/smilies/icon_neutral.gif

Thanks for any help you can offer. http://www.jetprogramme.org/forums/images/smilies/icon_biggrin.gif

nicole.ai
November 4th, 2011, 01:14
I don't think you need to worry too much about it. I'm kind of in the same boat as you in terms of formal experiences (I took Japanese in high school and that's pretty much it). I've been a bit worried about my chances because of this, but I've been talking about it with my fiance who is a JET in Sapporo, and he was telling me that a lot of his JET friends he has made in Hokkaido have similar backgrounds. One person had no teaching experience, no volunteer work with children, no knowledge of Japanese language, history, or culture, and his college degree is something technical like architecture or the like, but he still made it as a JET. So, I think there's a lot of different things they're evaluating when they look at our applications, so I don't think the things you mentioned are going to heavily hinder your chances of getting to the interview stage.

Rickithly
November 4th, 2011, 01:19
Thank you :) That has put my mind at ease. I mean, I have a limited knowledge of Japanese culture and history, but it is very limited.

From what I understand, they are much more interested in your Statement of Purpose and reference letters?