PDA

View Full Version : Starting out Learning Japanese.

PpJt
March 7th, 2012, 04:25
So yeah, as the title says, I'm just beginning to attempt to learn Japanese. This is of course partly because I plan to apply to the JET programme next (technically this) year and the thought of flying blind isn't exactly pleasant to me, and because I (well, so far) find it interesting.

While I won't properly be starting to study properly til I have finished exams and the like(mid May) I'm starting to think on several things which I feel I should ask someone more knowledgeable about. For example - what should I learn first - Hiragana or Katakana. Should I avoid Romanji like the plague (several places on der interweb seem to say so). And are there any 'must own' books other than a good dictionary? (Planning to buy this beast Kodansha's Furigana Dictionary: Japanese-English/English-Japanese: Amazon.co.uk: Kodansha International: Books (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/4770024800)).

Sorry for asking a bunch of questions so soon after joining up - but I plan on sticking around here so it's not like I'm going to take the advice and run.

Edit: I just realised that I could probably have raised a thread from the dead rather than creating a new one, as I doubt I'm the first to ask this. I dun goofed.

PpJt
March 7th, 2012, 08:36
Well I plan to apply for the next session (While I'm doing my honours) so I roughly have about 15 months? Though I obviously won't be able to study straight through. My summer is fairly free with just volunteer work however many times a week I like and a few trips to meet my mates in England.

I imagine if I can't learn two sets of what, 50ish characters each in that time I must be doing it wrong. Is this 'Remembering the ____' Series by Heisig any use? Some of the reviews make it sound almost miraculous but I'm naturally pretty skeptical of it.