PDA

View Full Version : How do your students study words?

Gizmotech
May 22nd, 2012, 13:10
Okay guys, I have a serious question.

I'm trying to figure out methods that Japanese High School (and Junior High) students study words. Are they taught in class, is it a self-taught system w/ testing, are they getting them from their primary textbook or is it a separate wordlist book? How often "guestimate" would you say they retest or re-cover words they already know? How often are they taught words in context (ie, from a paragraph), semi-contextual (Isolated sentence, single meaning), or context-removed (hey kids, this means coく sucker in Japanese. Yay translation).

Do any of your schools promote anything more interesting in terms of study methods or content review?

Finally, general interest question, how responsive would your schools be to trying something new in terms of study methods for students? Not as a replacement but as a pilot idea for a few students?

coop52
May 22nd, 2012, 13:45
At my current school (SHS), they teach vocab on the days I'm not there, so I don't really know how. Here's what most of the teachers did at my old school (JHS):
-give the kids word lists with all of the chapter/unit's vocab
-had the kids read the Japanese and English for the words every lesson
-the first few lessons, the JTE or I would read the English word and the kids would repeat it, after that they read it by themselves
-some teachers did activities where the students had to recall the words (mostly the criss-cross game where they had to say the Japanese for the English word or vis versa )
-they'd be given a test or quiz over all of the words at the end of the unit