PDA

View Full Version : Applying for 2013

gibdaddyo
July 14th, 2012, 12:23
Hi everyone,

Pleased to find such a forum for the Jet Program(me). I know this may be a bit early to start talking about 2013 applications, but I figured that before I went through all of the trouble to apply I would consult the sages of this fair forum!

This is me in application form:

I'm currently finishing up my combined BA/MA at a SUNY school in NY. Both my bachelor's and master's will be in economics. My undergrad GPA is a 3.84, and my grad GPA is 3.75. I have taken 2 courses in Japanese (both A's), and studied abroad this past academic year at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. My GPA there was only a 3.3, but I'm hoping that it will be forgivable, as it was study abroad. I studied Chinese while I was there, but this is probably a non-factor.

I also have experience teaching undergraduate courses in economics at my university. I have been a teaching assistant for two courses, and an instructor for two other courses.

My references come from professors at my school. I expect them to be strong, as they were for study abroad last year. However, they will both be from econ faculty, as I feel they know me better than my Japanese instructors do.

I know the program is fiercely competitive. What do you think, is it worth an application? Do you think I have a shot, or am I likely to be outdone?

Thanks in advance. Any replies are greatly appreciated.

Teishou
July 14th, 2012, 12:40
You'll always have a shot, but it's up to you how well you relate yourself to both the program and its needs.

uthinkimlost?
July 14th, 2012, 14:00
Your degree doesn't matter. No one really seems to care where they come from or if your university is accredited. Your gpa doesn't matter aside from being used to rattle you in-interview.

Merkypie
July 14th, 2012, 22:34
You're not getting to the JET Program just because you felt the need to blabber about your higher than average credentials.