PDA

View Full Version : Company Chances. Interac etc

Shodanicron
September 26th, 2012, 03:12
Hi guys

I've been visiting this site for sometime now as i have been (seriously) considering living and working in Japan for about a year , and have found the posts pretty damned helpful, but really feel like i had to post this myself.

All along i was planning on Taking the JET route to an ALT position, while this is still a possibility i am also do not want to put all my eggs in one basket since rejection rates are quite high.

I havent made any applications to different companies yet as im still waiting to hear back from one of my references to make sure i have his/her permission.

At present i feel like i am a strong candidate for the job.

I have an honours degree in English literature, I worked for a number of years as both a team lead and a trainer at a large multi-national corporation.
I have a years worth of Japanese tuition under my belt with private classes included and i feel like my japanese is of an intermediate level although if I'm honest i have not takes any of the JLPT exams yet unfortunately
I also have 2 types of certificates of TEFL/TESOL qualifications.
I have also been to japan before and found it awesome.

Now while i think this should look good to an interview or recruiter, i do have one thing which is really starting to worry me

And that is my lack of a drivers licence. I have lived in a relatively small city all my life ( Cork ireland) and have never had the "need" to drive. Not to mention it has always been out of my reach financially.

The more i look into the application process i see that those without a drivers licence seem to get refusals straight away.

My question is should i just forget about applying for another year while i worked on getting a licence or are my chances of getting a position good based on my experience and qualifications.