PDA

View Full Version : Overqualified for JET?

jperez09
November 5th, 2012, 09:47
Throughout the forums, I've heard claims that some applicants are just "over-qualified" and are feared to become very bored with the program.

I'm studying to become a bilingual teacher, so I have experience working with 4-10yr olds for the past 4 years. When I graduate, I'll also be ESL and have a teacher certification. I'm taught to plan lessons following state standards, but making sure to be innovative in the way I teach.

As for the JET Program, many claim that you "teach to the book" while others say that you do have a say in your lessons. I have even heard claims that you are a "puppet", reading aloud what the JTE wants you to. Although I am taught how to actively teach in the American curriculum, I have no problem learning and following how the Japanese education system works.

My real question is if there is a risk of being judged as over-qualified, or not qualified enough for that matter, in the JET Program?

coop52
November 5th, 2012, 10:02
There is a risk that you'll be bored, but that's a risk for pretty much anyone. The ESL teaching thing tends to look good on the application though. Generally, speaking though as long as you have the degree and aren't a complete weirdo, then you are qualified for the JET program.

Cytrix
November 5th, 2012, 10:47
I'm definitely overqualified for the role as an ALT here in Japan, but thankfully as a SHS ALT I take sole charge of the planning and implementation of the OC course so I'm never bored. It seems, in my area at least, that those people who are already trained teachers tend to be placed in the Senior High Schools, where we pretty much run the OC courses/are TIC.

However, in saying that, that might not be the case in other places. It's luck of the draw in every case sadly.

jperez09
November 5th, 2012, 11:15
Okay, thanks! I was just worried about how it would be perceived in my application.