PDA

View Full Version : Working Visa Issue

Phillip
November 7th, 2012, 11:57
Hi all, I'm new here and was possibly hoping for some info regarding a Japanese working visa.

Basically, I've been very keen to work in Japan for a while now. Most likely as an ALT as I have a degree and some decent work experience. I was excited about the JET program and went to an information seminar but subsiquently decided not to apply due to the following.

A few years ago I went to court and lost my drivers licence for one year as a result of being slightly over the legal alcohol limit. Yes, a very bad mistake which I regret immensly. Obviously I discontinued my interest with JET on the assumption that I was wasting my time due to the required police check.

So my question is; To what extent will this issue impact my ability to secure a working visa in Japan? Does obtaining a working visa in any regard (including finding sponsorship from a school) require the same background check employed by JET?

Perhaps I deserve this for making this mistake to begin with, but I'm just trying to establish my options at this point.

Any info would be much appreciated. Cheers.

stephiiStephii
November 7th, 2012, 12:10
Hey! I would say.. nothing ventured, nothing gained. I know that the application process for JET can be tedious but if you get through I'm sure it will be worth it.

Your chances probably depend on the company you are applying for and their standards. If it was a few years back and not like.. last month lol then that would also make a diff. So apply around, you never know! We all make mistakes but it doesn't hafto follow you for life, especially if it's not something that you repeat.

Phillip
November 8th, 2012, 08:45
Thanks for the advice and kind words Stephi, I'll certainly have to find a way somehow.

I was advised by a JET administrator that if a police check reveals such an offence, then it's highly likely that it would prevent a successful application.