PDA

View Full Version : Applying for 2014

Libellule
September 3rd, 2013, 05:58
Hey everyone,

I'm planning on applying this October as an ALT, and I have a few questions that I can't find answers for in the forums/FAQs:

I'm hoping to bring my fiance with me, but he doesn't have a degree so he would just be tagging along. I know that Japan won't recognize us as anything legally because we aren't married yet, so will this hurt my chances of getting in? Would it be better if he had TESOL certification so at least he's more likely to get a job tutoring somewhere? He knows a bit of Japanese from a couple of college courses he took (don't know if that makes a difference or not.)
I have very little knowledge of Japan. My sister in-law-to-be is Japanese and so I've learned about some cultural customs and geography from her and I LOVE Japanese food, but I don't know Japanese or anything else really. Would this hurt my chances of getting in? I'm a fast learner and I'd love to take a Japanese course but unfortunately with school and work I'm too busy right now.
Are interview dates flexible at all? (If I'm lucky enough to get an interview!) I'm starting my 9 week teaching practicum for my degree in February (I think the second or third week) and wouldn't be allowed to miss any days :s

Thanks in advance!

coop52
September 3rd, 2013, 07:31
1. Your fiance won't affect whether or not you get in, but it'll be extremely difficult for them to find a company willing to sponsor a work visa without a college degree or years and years of experience in some sort of skilled work. Self-sponsoring is possible, but only if you can prove that you can earn a minimum income on your own. Having a TESOL probably wouldn't do much to help; people with both TESOL certificates and 4 year degrees are a dime-a-dozen here, so why would someone hire a person with only a certificate? It might be easier to just get married before you come, provided you get past the interview of course.