PDA

View Full Version : JET 2014 Questions

Corvus
October 13th, 2013, 08:58

uthinkimlost?
October 13th, 2013, 09:06
Greetings all! I am happy I found this forum, as it seems the official forums have imploded, I can no longer post or see information on there aside from what pops up in google search.

I have started up with my application for 2014, and had a few questions:

I have already prepped a draft of my SoP and requested letters of recommendation, so I think I am off to a good start as the application forms have yet to be posted on the US website. I am wondering now if turning in your application early increases your odds of landing an interview date in any way?
Speaking of interview sessions, I am wondering if your consulate location has any impact on your odds of landing an interview? In my situation, I am a California resident that has relocated to Arizona, so I think I might have an option between the two.
Has JET changed their view of a "successful applicant" over time? This is a more general question and I understand if people don't have specifics but, from what I have read, I have heard differing things. Do they look favorably at post-graduate work experience, or do they prefer people in their early twenties, fresh out of college? Although I can't change the type of applicant I am, this will be important in drafting my statement of purpose, so I know what experiences to emphasis and which to downplay.

Thanks again for making this forum, I'm excited to get to know everyone and to contribute in anyway I can.

1) no one knows/probably not
2) nope, odds are more or less the same
3) emphasize everything relevant to the job. Jet is a mixed bag of people from different backgrounds.

PaddyPakku
October 13th, 2013, 09:37
Greetings all! I am happy I found this forum, as it seems the official forums have imploded, I can no longer post or see information on there aside from what pops up in google search.