PDA

View Full Version : Jet Program where no Japanese will speak normally with me :(

interioround
April 4th, 2014, 11:24
Hey guys,
First post here. A little background about myself:
I`m a few months into my first year here, and I live in a small town of 7,000 people who are mostly old farmers.

When I first interviewed for JET, I wanted the CIR position. I took N3 level a few years ago, and it was far too easy. My level is probably around N2, but I am studying for the N1. I didn`t get chosen as a CIR, but I did get selected as an ALT. I fully expected to speak English with the students and with the JTEs but even on my off times when I don`t have school the members of the BOE won`t talk normally with me in Japanese. I am trying to improve my Japanese while I`m here and would like to be able to speak more fluently, otherwise, when I go back to my country this experience will just look like a few years of vacation.

Even when my BOE has a Nomikai, they try and push me into speaking English. Finally at a Nomikai, I asked a guy who had been speaking English at me to please speak normally with me. He said, `oh, sorry` and kept on speaking in English. The grating part is that his wife is from Canada, so he can speak English whenever he wants >:(

There`s no events around the area. The clubs at my schools are lame and consist of ping pong for the girls and soccer for the boys. Even when I expressed an interest to participate in the clubs with the kids my manager said, `Speak English if you do`. If I want to go to a bigger city it takes a few hours (and a few moneys)...At this point, I`m thinking a lot about why I came here. I`ve even started to think about quitting because I see no merit to sticking around. I get to the point where I want to scream. What kind of cultural exchange program is this anyway?

uthinkimlost?
April 4th, 2014, 11:34
The kind where you expose inaka folk to your mother tongue.

therealwindycity
April 4th, 2014, 11:38