PDA

View Full Version : A random laundry question

nibbletbunny
September 10th, 2014, 15:51
Well, I've lived here for over a year now and I still am not super happy about how my laundry smells. I use fabric softener stuff along with my detergent and hang it up right away. On days when it's not raining, the laundry goes outside. On bad-weather days, it gets hung up on one of those metal monstrosities with a fan pointed directly on it. I think the laundry ends up smelling slightly sour on some occasions and I just can't get it smelling as good as it did back in the states. I feel like I am missing some crucial Japanese laundry technique or something. I am still learning the ways of doing laundry in the slightly "old-school," way and grew up with both an electric washer and dryer. I know I probably sound like I'm being super particular about this, but I would love to hear any advice you guys might have about how you get your laundry smelling super fresh! I don't want to scare off any of my students or co-workers with my funk!

Any laundry wisdom?

Thanks! :)

uthinkimlost?
September 10th, 2014, 15:53
Spray starch or febreeze and iron.

Ini
September 10th, 2014, 16:01
Buy a dryer

word
September 10th, 2014, 16:19
Buy a dryerword

Also, clean out your washer--they sell special tablets and stuff for doing this. Running a load full of hot water with a good cup or two of bleach (just wash some old towels or something) can help with this, too.

Jiggit
September 10th, 2014, 17:04
Running a load full of hot water

A what now?

coop52
September 10th, 2014, 18:04
Get one of those little water pumps and run it from your bathtub to your washing machine.

soh
September 10th, 2014, 18:52
I bought this thing (http://www.amazon.co.jp/gp/product/B0012P40ZS/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i03?ie=UTF8&psc=1) to clean my washer and use this "deodorant" (http://store.ponparemall.com/fafa-online/goods/900008/)along with laundry detergent.