PDA

View Full Version : Dropping my minor?

Applicant2014
December 4th, 2014, 04:45
Hello! I am currently a senior in college, and I'm majoring in Linguistics with a minor in Japanese. I am also in my school's honors college, which requires a thesis. I am finding it hard to complete both the credit load necessary to finish my thesis, and my minor, so I was thinking of dropping the minor, which would give me much more time to work on research. I have fulfilled all of the language requirements, and the only thing I would need would be two (time consuming) literature courses taught in English.

However, when I was applying for JET, I listed Japanese as my minor. I was wondering if any of you know what the JET program would do if I graduated without it? Would they consider that lying on my application? Do any of you have similar experiences?

Thank you for your time!

miamicoordinator
December 4th, 2014, 07:48
Hello! I am currently a senior in college, and I'm majoring in Linguistics with a minor in Japanese. I am also in my school's honors college, which requires a thesis. I am finding it hard to complete both the credit load necessary to finish my thesis, and my minor, so I was thinking of dropping the minor, which would give me much more time to work on research. I have fulfilled all of the language requirements, and the only thing I would need would be two (time consuming) literature courses taught in English.

However, when I was applying for JET, I listed Japanese as my minor. I was wondering if any of you know what the JET program would do if I graduated without it? Would they consider that lying on my application? Do any of you have similar experiences?

Thank you for your time!

All you need is a bachelors degree to be eligible for the JET Program. Minors are not a huge factor when it comes to the selection process. Whether you officially complete your minor or not, you will still have taken the japanese classes you listed on your application.