PDA

View Full Version : Working a second job alongside ALT work

pinkprincess89
December 4th, 2014, 23:37
Hey everyone I was wondering if anyone has had a second job in Japan as well as their ALT work. I'm currently a piano teacher and I'd like to keep it going even if it's just a few students. I just wanted to know if anyone has done it before and/or if it's too much work with teaching English and lesson planning etc.

Ini
December 4th, 2014, 23:43
No ALT in the history of the world has had "too much work with teaching English and lesson planning etc."

If you work for a shady company you should be able to get a second job without any issues - in fact its probably required in order to have a decent quality of life.

If you are on JET you probably wont be allowed to work a 2nd job but that doesn't stop people doing it.

pinkprincess89
December 4th, 2014, 23:55
Ha fair enough, well I've been offered a job with Interac and they seem to not really care if you do, as long as it doesn't affect your work. So I might just give it a go! The next challenge is finding out how the 'self-employed' situation works in Japan or if I can just do it on the sly!

uthinkimlost?
December 5th, 2014, 00:01
Market might be crowded. My inakaville has a ton of piano teachers already.

pinkprincess89
December 5th, 2014, 00:34
Market might be crowded. My inakaville has a ton of piano teachers already.

You're probably right! Well the western style of piano is very popular, so I just have to hope that people want to learn it!

Jiggit
December 5th, 2014, 08:24
Well the western style of piano is very popular

What is the Japanese style of piano?

SomePeopleJustSaySnow
December 5th, 2014, 09:36
Ba-dum-tish

uthinkimlost?
December 5th, 2014, 09:38
No one is impressed by a self-performed rimshot.

Now, a rimjob, on the other hand...

SomePeopleJustSaySnow
December 5th, 2014, 09:39
Now, a rimjob, on the other hand...

That would be impressive.

webstaa
December 5th, 2014, 11:58