PDA

View Full Version : Chocolate of Obligation

sourdoughsushi
February 8th, 2015, 21:02
Hey, JET noob here.
Valentine's Day falls on a Saturday this year, but I get the feeling I'm not safe. Do I need to be bringing in kiss ass chocolate? If so, whose asses should I be aiming to kiss on this Friday?

johnny
February 8th, 2015, 21:32
I'm going to begin this with the regular disclaimer: Others know a lot more than I do. That being said, here's my opinion.

Especially if you're a guy, there is no need to bring chocolate on Valentine's Day. If you are a woman, I think it's up to you. Do you want to do something nice? If so, I recommend buying enough chocolate so that it can be shared with each and every teacher in the staff room.

I brought a box of chocolate for each of my JTE's in the school I visited on White Day along with my Kyoto. They were all women so it seemed like a nice gesture. Those chocolates were shared amongst the teachers.

word
February 8th, 2015, 21:57
The best ALT I knew (male) wore a purple-and-red suit and handed out cheap fake flowers and chocolates to every woman he encountered on Valentine's Day. He went all out and it was pretty much epic. I envied his game. You can bet that if Valentine's Day had happened to fall on a weekday, I'd be tryin' to copy his sexy ass this year.

BifCarbet
February 9th, 2015, 01:58
Making gestures is huge. It's not really that hard to take stuff for people, so why not? I took in a couple strings of Oreos one year and just offered some to teachers during lunch. They loved it, and subsequently treated me a little better.

webstaa
February 9th, 2015, 09:02
If you bring kiss-ass chocolate, do it the American school style and give a fun-sized bag of M&Ms (or conversation hearts) with a Valentines theme and tag to everybody etc.