PDA

View Full Version : Coming to Saitama

Eriasu
March 6th, 2015, 23:39
Hey guys,

I've just found out about this site, so I'm a newbie.

I have been accepted into the JET program and will be located in the Saitama prefecture. I've yet to receive a confirmation on the actual place, however I'm hoping for some tips or advice for when I arrive.
Is anyone on this site located there currently?

Cheers,
Elias

word
March 7th, 2015, 10:23
mothy is there, apparently. I know a girl who moved there from my area.

You should understand that Saitama is something of a running joke on this site; because of its higher crime rates (still lower than lots of areas in the US) and general reputation amongst many of its own residents, we have a tendency to lampoon the area in a rather exaggerated manner. Don't let it get you down; I'll bet you'll have a blast!

mothy
March 7th, 2015, 11:26
Yeah. The running "joke".

Airyass, are you prefectural or municipal?

Eriasu
March 7th, 2015, 12:37
Thanks for the replies!
i wasn't aware Saitama could be a dangerous area.

mothy, I haven't been told yet where in Saitama prefecture I'll be working.
Where about are you located?

Apart from running away and (I'm assuming) making sure my door is always locked, is there anything else I should keep in mind that doesn't involve crime or fear of life?

word
March 7th, 2015, 15:45
Apart from running away and (I'm assuming) making sure my door is always locked, is there anything else I should keep in mind that doesn't involve crime or fear of life?As long as you don't rely on a service dog, you'll probably be fine.

mothy
March 7th, 2015, 16:59
Thanks for the replies!
i wasn't aware Saitama could be a dangerous area.

mothy, I haven't been told yet where in Saitama prefecture I'll be working.
Where about are you located?

Apart from running away and (I'm assuming) making sure my door is always locked, is there anything else I should keep in mind that doesn't involve crime or fear of life?