PDA

View Full Version : Peoples preferred prefectures?

starxrox
June 12th, 2015, 06:20
How did you choose your preference?
I'm more than happy to go rural but I just don't know where.
I'm aware it's not a sure thing but I'm interested in where people chose and then ended up?

I've also heard about a guy going somewhere in Shimane (will have to check YouTube) and getting a little blue house with a garden and paying next to nothing. I realise that's a bit of a push but if I could get landed something like that I would be so happy.

Cheers.

texxaport
June 12th, 2015, 06:53
Well one thing that dictated how I did my preferences was this (http://www.jetprogramme.org/documents/stats/2014_jet_stats_e.pdf) document. A lot of people waste their requests by putting in places that there aren't any ALT positions.

Other than that, I selected places that were close to my friends who study in South Korea, were on the water (I'm a biologist with a specialization in marine systems), had decent connections (rail and air) and had a decent number of ALT positions there.

I have yet to receive my final placement city/town but I know I'm in Hyogo-ken which is the same prefecture as my third choice (Kobe City). I could actually be in Kobe after all anyway.

haitch40
June 12th, 2015, 07:15
Well one thing that dictated how I did my preferences was this (http://www.jetprogramme.org/documents/stats/2014_jet_stats_e.pdf) document. A lot of people waste their requests by putting in places that there aren't any ALT positions.

Other than that, I selected places that were close to my friends who study in South Korea, were on the water (I'm a biologist with a specialization in marine systems), had decent connections (rail and air) and had a decent number of ALT positions there.

I have yet to receive my final placement city/town but I know I'm in Hyogo-ken which is the same prefecture as my third choice (Kobe City). I could actually be in Kobe after all anyway.