PDA

View Full Version : Adult Conversation Classes - Advice, please!

smile and nod
June 25th, 2015, 15:45
Hi all! Newb here.

I'm part of a local initiative to teach the community adults English. I was hired by an ALT/eikaiwa company. This is not a business related course and is strictly limited to conversation skills. Our youngest students are three high schoolers, and our oldest are in their 80s. I have students with varying degrees of skill but only two levels of courses, Beginner and Basic. Next semester we're stretching it out into Beginner, Basic, and Advanced. I'm brand new to teaching English, and have minimal teaching background (TA in grad school and a job where I worked one-on-one with students learning computer software.)

I've been having trouble with focus and lesson planning but feel that by writing learning objectives and more detailed lesson plans this should soon be fixed. However, I am especially having trouble with students becoming bored. The materials my company has given me are mostly flash cards, pre-written dialogues, and accompanying questions. Their method is mostly drill-based. With what can I supplement these materials to make class more interesting? By the by, I am not supposed to use Japanese in my classes, even for the Beginner levels where some students only know あいさつ.

Thanks in advance!

webstaa
June 26th, 2015, 08:09
For-warning - I don't actually teach eikaiwa. My only experience with 'eikaiwa' style conversation/teaching was during exchange in Japan. We were paired with English learners as we studied Japanese.

I had the most luck keeping a conversation going when I could find things that they liked to talk about. See what interests they have and build into English from there. With some of my current ES/JHS students (outside of class) I like talking about things they like, (even things that aren't interesting to me - a la Taylor Swift.) For some, music, TV, video games etc, and for others its cooking or travel etc.

Jiggit