PDA

View Full Version : [Question] Absolute beginner (adult) first few lessons

Torinn88
October 29th, 2015, 15:15
What would be a good way to handle lessons for an almost complete beginner?

Since I'm not speaking about a specific student that exists, I'll give an example of what I might expect:

Had basic English in middle/high school, can read roman letters, knows a little bit of vocabulary and basic grammar. Adjectives and modifiers are probably out of the question. They seem unable (or hesitant) to form sentences and questions. Most likely can understand via short reading/listening a bit more than they can produce.

I have a good textbook, but 99.9% of all my students can at least ask/answer basic questions, and this got me wondering what I should do for a complete zero.

Role play scripts (example) at the beginning, and ending with fill-in the blank scripts at the end is one idea I've been mulling over.

What do you do?

webstaa
October 29th, 2015, 16:30
Are they really absolute beginners? Can they read/recognize romaji? Can they understand any English (even if they can't produce any)?

Usually most "absolute beginners" start with greetings and romaji. Conversationally, greetings and simple (set) phrases work great as well.

This is what Japanese kids get at elementary school: "Hello, my name is XXXXX. How are you? I'm fine, thank you." and a bunch of simple vocabulary. For adults, I'd think that catering to their interest is the best approach - so they want to be conversational, start with a few phrases to get them talking and work your way into reading and writing.

Ebi
October 29th, 2015, 16:38
I think you need to give a lot more context to get appropriate advice. By "complete zero" do you mean they've never had an English class in their life, or do you mean they just can't do anything as well as the rest of your students despite taking the same amount of classes?