PDA

View Full Version : JET or 'real' job?

Meow
January 4th, 2016, 13:39
Hi ITIL community! I'm a long time lurker first time poster. My question is this: should I do JET or push on with my career?

Here's my circumstances: I graduated six years ago and have been working pretty solidly in the direction of my goals. Over the last three years I've had a good job but due to some changes it's no longer the right fit for me. Because of these changes I thought - good time to apply for JET, which I have considered for a long time (quick note: I studied in Japan on exchange and have visited a few times, so I've wanted to deepen that knowledge/experience with JET). Now, here's where it gets sticky: I've had a few nibbles in the career department (read: I've been asked (unsolicited) to apply for some really good jobs, but they are with a company I've been with for a long time and am a bit over...) and (despite my over-it-ness) am really excited for those opportunities. However, I have been wanting to go on JET since I graduated and also really want to do that... hence my conundrum! The other thing is, JET isn't really a big side step from my career as I want to work in international education and exchange. At this stage I've been offered an interview.

I guess I am super conflicted as I'm ready for a big change in duties and lifestyle and I feel like JET will push me in ways I've not worked before so it could be a good activity in personal development... but then, I want this career... part of me is saying 'go do JET, you won't regret it', and the other part is saying 'take this job, if you don't like it, go on JET...' but my issue there is I don't want to screw up this particular relationship (with the person who has offered me this job) because I've been building it for 6+ years. The other compounding factor is I'd be taking my husband with me to Japan and he'd be on a dependent visa, which has it's own intricacies as the picture isn't just about me.