PDA

View Full Version : How important is teaching knowledge? (i.e. TEFL courses, etc.)

purple jellyfish
March 1st, 2016, 07:21
I'm a freshman in university majoring in economics and international studies (with a concentration in South East Asia) and a minor in Japanese. I don't have time to get certified via my university's TESOL courses, but I was hoping my double major and minor would make up for that? I'm also going to study abroad at Sophia University my junior year for 1-2 semesters. Will I be okay without prior teaching knowledge? Thanks!

Also, are there any non-demanding ways to get involved with teaching/tutoring that would help with my application?

Ini
March 1st, 2016, 09:00
No teaching background is required.

A decent application that makes you sound like a well rounded individual will get you an interview.

Not coming across as a lunatic/social outcast/lazy/arrogant in the interview will get you the job.

It doesn't matter if you are a lunatic/social outcast/lazy/arrogant (most JETs are), just dont show it in the interview.

purple jellyfish
March 1st, 2016, 09:09
I'm not completely familiar with each component of the essay... Is there an essay portion of some sort, or do you just list what you have done during college?

moonbeam
March 1st, 2016, 09:14
Ya, what Ini said.

I had zero teaching experience before JET. I applied two years--the first year, I just had a little volunteer thing that made it look like I had teaching experience (we went to elementary schools and talked about Japan to the students). I was an alternate that year. The next year I did everything the same but added a stupid online 'course' about teaching ESL. I was an alternate again but I got upgraded after a week. I don't know if the ESL thing helped but maybe? Maybe my interview was better? Maybe the planets aligned and a butterfly died. Who knows with JET.