PDA

View Full Version : Shortlisted but no passport! Help!

Turtle Scarf
March 29th, 2017, 23:14
Being a college student, I am rather tight on money so I decided to delay getting a passport until I found out if I was accepted to JET. Now I am shortlisted and the consulate requires a photocopy of my passport information by April 17. Even if I expedite the process and request overnight shipping, there’s still no guarantee that I will receive my passport before the deadline.
What is my course of action for informing the consulate?
Will the consulate accept a passport photocopy as long as the envelope is postmarked before the deadline?

webstaa
March 30th, 2017, 08:29
Things to do: Contact the consulate/JET coordinator ASAP - they'll get thing sorted for you on the Japanese side, usually asking for proof you've got your passport application submitted. Get your passport application completed with the expedited option and overnight delivery (+$75.)

mothy
March 30th, 2017, 09:43
Every year someone does this. Passports don't cost that much, and now you have to stress and pay for expedited delivery. Just follow weebstar's advice and you should be fine.

But applicants of the future, passports are useful. Even if you don't get accepted they're useful. Just get your passport!

Airella013
March 30th, 2017, 22:48
No need to worry! I was doing some reading in our notes and instruction page and found this: "If you do not currently hold a valid US passport, you should begin the process of obtaining one immediately. Please keep the JET Program Office informed of the status of your passport application and provide a photocopy as soon as possible."

Just contact your consulate and tell them what's going on :D Good luck!

Monty
March 31st, 2017, 15:41
How did you even apply and get into the consulate for the interview without a passport? In the UK we need a copy of the passport page for the application and the physical document to gain entry to the consulate for the interview.