PDA

View Full Version : Appliaction Form: Teaching Experience

Purge
September 30th, 2005, 02:53
Hey,

I'm a bit confuzzled on the teaching experience section of the application form. I have no classroom experience (might see if i can volunteer somewhere for a bit...) but i was thinking of putting a few things in the 'other teaching experience' section.

1. I've informally helped a few people with grammar etc on a lot of their essays. Can i put this down?
2. I was responsible for training new staff at a former job, everything from how to do the job to health and safety law. Can i put this down?

If i can put these things down (i don't want to leave them blank...need the points!) the how do i do it, seeing as you have to fill in a box which asks you for the institution you taught at, the subject/course, grade/level, Dates and hours per week...i could understand this box on the formal teaching section, not on th e'other teaching section'.

Sorry if i seem dense, i just need to get this right and really really don't want to leave it blank!

Thanks

Ini
September 30th, 2005, 05:46
i just need to get this right

Easy there Susan, nothing puts interviewers off more than the stench of desperation. These boards are littered with tales of people who started off going "Oh my god I have to get accepted, I’ve been waiting to join the JET program since I was 8 years old and this is the only thing that matters in my life" and then when they get rejected make the fatal mistake of going "How did this happen? What can I do next year to get accepted what if I marry a Japanese person and phone the embassy every day to ask them questions?"

The fact that you wrote your essay before the form even came out is a bad sign and you have at least 2 months to send it in - go have a pint, stop being a whiny pussy and just fill the form in as best you can. If you're not a complete fucktard you should get in no problem.