PDA

View Full Version : Besides martial arts, what hobbies do you want to learn?

NSboarderchic
May 29th, 2004, 08:07
We touched on this a bit on the I Know Kung Foo! thread, but I was wondering what other hobbies you guys wanted to pick up/learn while in Japan?

Personally, I'd like to learn some form of martial arts, but I studied the Japanese Tea Ceremony in college and wouldn't mind continuing that. Or even calligraphy, or flower arranging, or sumo wrestling. Dammit! Too much to do.

joe
May 29th, 2004, 08:40
sumo wrestling!!
Better start eating....

adammoogle
May 29th, 2004, 08:46
can arson be classed as a hobbie?

NSboarderchic
May 29th, 2004, 08:57
Hey Adam - you don't happen to work at Dulcinea's school do you? :)

Oh! OH! THis is post 69!!!! WOOOOO - HOOOOO!!! Wait, now I can't post again. Dammit, and now everyone think's I'm 13. Shoot.

IowaJET
May 29th, 2004, 09:18
I want to study Japanese ceramics, and take some classes.

Lesley
May 29th, 2004, 09:18
I do archery (very badly!) at the moment so I'd like to try the Japanese version. I'd also like to learn a musical instrument - maybe the o-koto, it looks interesting on the genki-japanese site.

http://www.genkienglish.net/genkijapan/koto.htm

The taiko drums would probably be fun to learn but I think they're too energetic for my lazy body. :P

Jay
May 29th, 2004, 10:39
I want to try as many new things as possible.

lorenzokenzo
May 29th, 2004, 10:53
I want to get back into Kayaking..i use to do a bit when i was younger and i think it's quite popular in my town

Ageha
May 29th, 2004, 11:41
I'm actually really hoping to learn to play the taiko! I've seen a few performances (both here and in Japan) and they're always exciting. That and Japanese traditional/folk dances. ^^ And even though I don't know ASL, due to a few influences, I've recently become interested in Japanese sign language.

Mere
May 29th, 2004, 15:12