PDA

View Full Version : What's the most picturesque area in Japan?

Nawoo
October 17th, 2006, 12:58
Hey boys and girls!

I'm a first time applicant for the JET program. I'm in the process of filling up my application form and i'm stumped on my Placement requests. I can't seem to have a fixed idea of where i wanna be!

All i know is that i want somewhere that's rural and beautiful. I'm a crazy avid photographer and i love doing Landscape photography and People photography. I'm a freelance wedding photographer every once in awhile. I'll do the craziest things for landscape shots. I'll wake up at 530am to catch morning's first light. I'll wait 2 hours for that perfect sunset shot.

Japan is a photographer's paradise. There's just so much natural beauty and so many amazing landscapes. Not to mention its very distinct culture. I just wanna go photo crazy and take a million awesome photos.

.... and teach a little bit of english at the same time

As of now, i'm listing Kochi Prefecture, Nagano prefecture, and Mizayaki Prefecture, as my respective preferences. There are like 4 prefectures on Shikoku. Which one's the nearest to the areas that i can surf? I listed Mizayaki as well since it has pretty good surf as well. What's the possibility of me being able to surf everyday after class if i have the necessary transport? I'm still contemplating on that point.

I was reading this member Spiffae's blog, and he got posted to this obscure little island in Hiroshima called Osakikamishima. And it's absolutely beautiful. I want something like that. Ahhhhh. I think Hokkaido should be really beautiful as well. But i don't really feel like freezing my balls off most of the year.

I was thinking of Shizuoka as well. So you guys need to help me with this!

Oh yeah, i have to introduce myself.