Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Applying to JET program

Default Applying to JET program

Hi everyone!

I'm applying for the JET program this year. WOO! I'm really excited.

But I'm worried about the interview.
    It says you have to know a lot about your home country and Japan. I don't know that much about Japan, I know even less about my home country. Let's face it, the UK isn't that exciting.
    I don't even read books. I'm a games programmer by trade you see so I don't have time, I'm not a teacher but my English reading and writing is great. I'm keen to learn teaching skills, I'm great with kids. I just think that I'm going to be really underqualified for the position of teacher and thus not get in due to my lack of knowledge. I play a lot of Japanese computer games and I'm totally fluent in Hiragana/Katakana and about 100 kanji. (More kanji but I don't know how to pronounce) I'm really good at reading and writing Japanese, my speaking and listening is decent too.
    But for everything else non Japanese wise I really suck knacker sacks
    That worries me a lot and in some ways it's putting me off applying at all.

What do you think my chances are?

Thanks

ENAY, it sounds to me like you have great chances. You're no less qualified than most current JETs, I'd wager. Your post shows that you can demonstrate a keen interest in Japan and Japanese culture and that's probably the most important thing.

I would recommend reading up some basic facts about the UK and Japan, though. There is a test at the interview; I had questions about who the UK's Deputy Prime Minister is and which companies are Japanese, etc. So facts like that would be handy to know.

Every JET I've met is different in terms of experience and qualifications. As long as you can demonstrate your interest and adaptability, you'll be fine. And if you don't get on, there are plenty of other ways to work in Japan, believe me!

Good luck! I'll make you some beans on toast when you get here.