Page 1 of 16 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: JETs in the Inaka

Default JETs in the Inaka

So, I'm in the same boat as many of my fellow North American JETs with interviews around the corner.

I've been thinking long and hard about placement IF I were to get into the JET program. I've told myself I'd be pretty happy (and almost prefer) being in rural Japan. I'd love the ability to become near-fluent in Japanese and enjoyed (to an extent) the superstar status being a foreigner in rural Japan gave me (when I studied abroad last year). However, when I studied abroad, I had made friends with other students who lived closeby (about a 15-20 minute bike ride).

So, I am wondering if one was to be placed in rural Japan is it likely to have another JET or two placed nearby? I don't mind living by myself, though I can imagine living by yourself in the middle of nowhere Japan without a nearby JET friend could be difficult.

Any thoughts/comments would be greatly appreciated!!
    "If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay home. "
    -- James Michener

From what I have read, even in the inaka, there is usually another JET nearby within 40-60 minutes. You can also enroll in the JETAA if your looking for that type of support structure.
    "Psychologically, you have to have confidence in yourself and this confidence should be based on fact."

Bilbo's Cloak of Geekery goloons's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by kgcava88 View Post
    So, I'm in the same boat as many of my fellow North American JETs with interviews around the corner.