Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: To buy or not to buy - Electronic Dictionary.

Default To buy or not to buy - Electronic Dictionary.

Hello senpais...

I am just a beginner level Japanese student. The only dictionary I have to learn Japanese is the the oxford beginner dictionary. As I go along in my studies, I find that there are many words that aren't included ( what did I expect from a beginning level dictionary right?). I'm considering to buy a better dictionary that I can use for a very long time.

However, thinking about the bulk and weight of most dictionaries and thinking about how long it takes to flip through the dictionary to find for a word, I am contemplating on getting an electronic dictionary.

But, do you think it is the right time to get one? or should I just buy a paper dictionary instead? What would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

We all have a reponsibility to continue jihad.

Default Re: To buy or not to buy - Electronic Dictionary.

for you, i suggest getting a proper paper dictionary. and a good kanji (paper) dictionary.

once you become fluent with being able to look up words and kanji quickly, then move on to an electronic.
    <a href=http://www.ithinkimlost.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=3134&dateline=1245615339 target=_blank>http://www.ithinkimlost.com/image.ph...ine=1245615339</a>
    Quote Originally Posted by Hyakuman View Post
    As usual, you all (Aliを除く) have your heads up your asses.

Quote Originally Posted by AliDimayev View Post
    for you, i suggest getting a proper paper dictionary. and a good kanji (paper) dictionary.

once you become fluent with being able to look up words and kanji quickly, then move on to an electronic.

Okay, thanks. Any recommendations on what dictionary I should buy? Thanks

I love a little program that's on the nintendo ds. you can draw in the kanji/kana and it uses the same engine as many of the electronic dictionaries, but for only 30 bucks. forget the name though.