Thread: Thinking about applying.

Default Thinking about applying.

Hello everyone. I live in the USA and I graduated from my university 2 years ago and have since been working as a professional Software Engineer until I got laid off recently in a company wide layoff. I've been interviewing for a new tech job recently here in California, but the other day I remembered the Jet program which is something I had heard about back in college and it sounded really interesting, and then from that I also found out about the non-jet organizations.

These programs sound like a great opportunity, if I don't manage to get any offers from the current tech companies im interviewing with. I've always wanted to live/work in Japan and originally I was hoping that I would be able to one day work in a tech company in Japan. However, obviously these programs are for teaching English, which is something that I feel I can definitely learn to do, although I don't have any prior teaching experience. I suppose after the contract ends for any of these teaching programs, I may be able to even apply for a tech job there like I have always wanted to do.

Is there any of you that have done anything similar, or do most of you come straight out of college? Do you all plan to just be professional English teachers as your main career? Although this idea sounds interesting to me, it also seems a bit strange for me since I have already started my career path as a Software Engineer and I would be taking a job outside of my profession that also pays significantly less in salary.

I have been thinking about applying to Jet and also to many of these other organizations since the Jet process takes 6+ months in which I would just be sitting around unemployed for a potential spot in the program which isn't even guaranteed. Obviously, I am a fan of Japan, their language, and their culture or I would not be thinking about these programs.