Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: References

Default References

Hey guys, I have two good referees from when I did my degree but I did a CELTA course earlier this year and had a very good relationship with one of the two tutors who critiqued my teaching. He was also the course leader. It was a 4 week intensive course. I think he would give me the best reference and it would be more relevant. The only problem is I only knew him for 4 weeks, though we have kept in touch since. I also wonder whether it would actually be classified as an "academic reference" as requested. Any input on this would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Default Re: References

I would think that this would qualify as an academic reference, however I would certainly keep the time you've known him/her close to the chest.

You need to realize that there aren't a series of hard-nosed guidelines about this sort of stuff... you get to make up a lot of it as you go along. Thus, if you think it's an academic reference and feel confident saying so, just do it. JET is not as rocket-science specific and particular as people think, just go with your gut and double/triple check everything you do just in case.
    Your best? Losers always whine about their best. Winners go home and fuck the prom queen.

Quote Originally Posted by Jiggit
    It's like GG's life is run by a DM who lets him take all skill checks with his charisma modifier.

I personally think it's better to use people that have known you a long time. Both of my references had known me for 4+ years. Someone who has worked with/taught you that long and can still go on for two pages about your awesomeness is a winner in my book.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jiggit View Post
    But what if we reverse the polarity of the quantum string theory? According to uncertainty principle there are infinite worlds out there, so it stands to reason schrodinger's cat is alive in one of them.

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo87;
    U da real mvp.