Thread: Intro and JET questions

Default Intro and JET questions

Hey everyone, I am new to the forum and was searching around for info on the JET program from current and former JET's. I was planning on applying for 2013 and was looking to get some advice on things to get set up in the meantime.
    Just some background, I have my degree, 30 yrs old and have been working full time for the last 7 yrs. (same job). Suffice to say I am burnt out. I want a change in my life now and I am finally financially stable enough to make it. I have been looking into teaching English in Japan since 2003 and had a job offer back then but due to a family illness had to pass it up.

Anyways the reason I am posting this is to get an idea of what the job really entails and to hear some feedback on whether JET is worth it over the eikaiwa "schools" like Aeon, Berlitz, etc. I know JET pays the best and from what I see is the best option other than being placed in a rural area.
    I don't really care where I'm placed, I have been to Japan once before, and have traveled a bit. I know basic Japanese and trying to learn more so I don't go completely unprepared.
    I saw some posts from a couple of members that seemed like they hated their JET experience and wanted to hear why. I am just looking for non-biased, honest opinions from the people here.
    Also just curious if anyone stayed in Japan after they had finished the JET program with a permanent or different job (and how likely is it to do that).

Forgot to ask, when you do the application for JET do you submit a resume with the application or is your work experience included in the application?

Any advice that can be given is appreciated. Thanks everyone.
    Last edited by cerealzer0; October 26th, 2011 at 16:35.

Default Re: Intro and JET questions