Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Transgender people in the JET program

Default Transgender people in the JET program

Hello everyone I had a few questions and concerns about the JET program. I'm a sophomore in College right and I love teaching others and i'm interested in different cultures and thought the JET program would be a lot of fun and an interesting experience. However I'm a transgender woman, meaning I was born male but now i'm transitioning to female, and i'm worried would I even be allowed to do JET(due to the time I would be going, I'd still have my ids as male and what not. Also I do pass most of my college friends american, and Japanese have no ideal and if I get accepted into program I also wouldn't tell anyone and just keep it to myself, and also say if I can't teach at a school is there other programs in JET or others where lets say I could teach adults or do other things?

Quote Originally Posted by Vivien View Post
    Hello everyone I had a few questions and concerns about the JET program. I'm a sophomore in College right and I love teaching others and i'm interested in different cultures and thought the JET program would be a lot of fun and an interesting experience. However I'm a transgender woman, meaning I was born male but now i'm transitioning to female, and i'm worried would I even be allowed to do JET(due to the time I would be going, I'd still have my ids as male and what not. Also I do pass most of my college friends american, and Japanese have no ideal and if I get accepted into program I also wouldn't tell anyone and just keep it to myself, and also say if I can't teach at a school is there other programs in JET or others where lets say I could teach adults or do other things?
    WTF. What is that last sentence? I can assure you, if this is any indication of your English language ability, getting into JET is gonna be an uphill battle for you, to say the least.