Thread: What kind of qualifications does one need?

Default What kind of qualifications does one need?

Hello everyone, this is my first post although I have looked on these boards for awhile now. I had a question in regard to qualifications and what necessary or helpful for landing a job as an ALT in Japan

I recently graduated from school with a B.A. in both history and Japanese, and I studied in Japan during the fall 2011 semester. During my time there I worked as an English conversation partner at an independent language learning lab, and volunteered for community outreach services and taught English to locals. I graduated with distinction in three years, and I am a phi beta kappa, so my academic record is also pretty strong.

I applied for JET and obviously didn't get to the interview stage, but applied for Interac this past recruitment season and got all of the way too the end but didn't get the job. I found this puzzling because throughout the process, the people at Interact told me my chances were very good, and my recruiter at the interview told me that I was pretty much going to receive the position.

I want to work as an ALT in Japan as I am sure most of us here do. I am curious if you can tell me what I can do to improve myself for the ALT companies, because as previously mentioned in another thread, Japanese companies do not disclose why a candidate was declined.

Should I just keep trying to apply for a variety of companies with my current resume? Should I seek a TEFL certification and if so what do you recommend?

I sincerely appreciate any advice or assistance the ITIL community can provide.

Default Re: What kind of qualifications does one need?

Sounds like you're pretty qualified. Just work on your SOP and interview skills. You can have perfect qualifications and still be rejected if you come off as a weirdo.