Thread: Working a second job alongside ALT work

Default Working a second job alongside ALT work

Hey everyone I was wondering if anyone has had a second job in Japan as well as their ALT work. I'm currently a piano teacher and I'd like to keep it going even if it's just a few students. I just wanted to know if anyone has done it before and/or if it's too much work with teaching English and lesson planning etc.

Default Re: Working a second job alongside ALT work

No ALT in the history of the world has had "too much work with teaching English and lesson planning etc."

If you work for a shady company you should be able to get a second job without any issues - in fact its probably required in order to have a decent quality of life.

If you are on JET you probably wont be allowed to work a 2nd job but that doesn't stop people doing it.
    Great men of action never mind on occasion being ridiculous; in a sense it is part of their job.

Ha fair enough, well I've been offered a job with Interac and they seem to not really care if you do, as long as it doesn't affect your work. So I might just give it a go! The next challenge is finding out how the 'self-employed' situation works in Japan or if I can just do it on the sly!

Market might be crowded. My inakaville has a ton of piano teachers already.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jiggit View Post
    But what if we reverse the polarity of the quantum string theory? According to uncertainty principle there are infinite worlds out there, so it stands to reason schrodinger's cat is alive in one of them.

Quote Originally Posted by Apollo87;
    U da real mvp.

Quote Originally Posted by uthinkimlost? View Post
    Market might be crowded. My inakaville has a ton of piano teachers already.
    You're probably right! Well the western style of piano is very popular, so I just have to hope that people want to learn it!

Quote Originally Posted by pinkprincess89 View Post
    Well the western style of piano is very popular