Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Coming to Saitama

Default Coming to Saitama

Hey guys,

I've just found out about this site, so I'm a newbie.

I have been accepted into the JET program and will be located in the Saitama prefecture. I've yet to receive a confirmation on the actual place, however I'm hoping for some tips or advice for when I arrive.
    Is anyone on this site located there currently?

Cheers,
    Elias

Default Re: Coming to Saitama

mothy is there, apparently. I know a girl who moved there from my area.

You should understand that Saitama is something of a running joke on this site; because of its higher crime rates (still lower than lots of areas in the US) and general reputation amongst many of its own residents, we have a tendency to lampoon the area in a rather exaggerated manner. Don't let it get you down; I'll bet you'll have a blast!
    Quote Originally Posted by 00Bear00 View Post
    When I read your post I suddenly feel like I am so far away from being crazy.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ini View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Ananasboat View Post
    It's festivals days like these on which I really try really hard to make up for not partying in college.
    yeah, because who needs free flowing drugs and alcohol fueling adventorous sex with taut, lithe young bodies when you could wander around a dying town in the freezing cold with a can of asahi super dry in your hand while some toothless old farmer shouts at you.

Yeah. The running "joke".

Airyass, are you prefectural or municipal?

Thanks for the replies!
    i wasn't aware Saitama could be a dangerous area.

mothy, I haven't been told yet where in Saitama prefecture I'll be working.
    Where about are you located?

Apart from running away and (I'm assuming) making sure my door is always locked, is there anything else I should keep in mind that doesn't involve crime or fear of life?

Quote Originally Posted by Eriasu View Post