Thread: Help for people wanting to work at universities.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Help for people wanting to work at universities.

As I will soon be retiring I would like to give back and give some help to anyone who is considering teaching English in Japan at universities.
    I currently make around 15 million yen, and have around 4 months off, so I can highly recommend working at a university in Japan.

Default Re: Help for people wanting to work at universities.

How did you manage to get that job? What were your qualifications for it?

I too am interested in how to get a job teaching at universities in Japan. Do you have a PhD or masters degree? Do you teach English or a specific subject?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2014 DC alternate
    2015 DC shortlist

I have a PhD and a masters degree. I was a uni professor out of Japan for 20 years and then applied to a university in Japan and they dealt with the visa and everything.
    I had a very good research record and I am a professor.
    There are some people who have gone from eikaiwa to becoming university teachers, but they are usually lecturer rank. We joke about them and call them made in Japan university teachers.
    However, they seem to do pretty well for themselves, they usually have MAs and stay at lecturer rank and 5 year contracts.
    When you ask me how did I manage to get that job, it sounds like you are implying I was lucky to get the job, but it is nothing like that. If you have a PhD, university teaching experience, a good research record, the ability to get research funding from outside sources a university will be begging to hire you.

Quote Originally Posted by maitoshi View Post