Page 1 of 19 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: 2016 JET Program Application

Default 2016 JET Program Application

Hello everyone!

I found this site about 3 months ago after deciding to apply for the JET program for the 2016-2017 school year and have been lurking on it occasionally since then. I'm wanting to bolster my application before the application period starts in the fall. I know it's early, but I'm hoping people can point me in the right direction. Right now I'm a Japanese tutor as well as the founder and president of my school's Japanese Club. I just formed this club this semester, so we don't have many activities under our belt. My GPA is lower than I wanted due to unforeseen circumstances and is now standing at a 3.0.

What advice can you give to me and any potential JET applicant in this next application season? Also is my low GPA going to negatively impact my application?

Thanks for your time! :)

Default Re: 2016 JET Program Application

Welcome!
    Most folks on here say that your GPA doesn't matter much.
    A 3.0 is not bad at all so don't worry too much about it.

It's great that you're starting to work on the application early. I started at the last second and was scrambling to get everything together.

Things to do:
    -Think about who you'd like to write your letters of rec.
    -Write a list of anything involving student or community organizations/clubs, volunteer work, work with children, teaching, tutoring, study abroad, etc.
    -Write a list of any international cultural experiences you've had (cultural festivals you've participated in, roomed with someone from another country, etc.).
    -Know Why JET, Why Japan, and Why You
    -Start writing your Statement of Purpose. Have family and friends read it and then have someone unbiased read it (such as a writing tutor or the likes). Focus on what you can do for JET rather than what JET can do for you.
    -Have some long-term goals or think about how JET can help you in future endeavors.