Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: EARTHQUAKES!!!

Default EARTHQUAKES!!!

I'm really only asking about this because I have a documentary on earthquakes in Japan on in the background so I'm curious haha. I'm so scared, I've never been in one! Are small ones pretty frequent, do you get used to them? Did you feel like you were gonna poop your pants the first time? I probably will....

Default Re: EARTHQUAKES!!!

When I studied abroad there was a very noticeable earthquake. But it happened at like 4 in the morning, and the only reason I noticed it was because my phone decided to scream me awake. Honestly would have slept right through it.

This time around I haven't noticed any either. I'm sure there have been a couple, and sometimes I'll feel something and not be able to decide if it was the world, or me being dizzy. So, hasn't really been a problem for me. I'm down in Kyushu, by the way.

Because I was curious I went and found this website. Should help to alleviate some of your worries.

http://earthquaketrack.com/r/western...u-japan/recent

I had a pretty large one a few months back. You could say I felt shaken.

Japan is going to have a lot of earth quakes, and that is out of your control. There are many small ones, but your actions and location dictate whether you'll feel them or not. Most of the time you won't.

Once you're used to them, they can be fun until every once per 5-10 years you get a ride that lasts a little longer than you'd like. Just make sure to acquaint yourself with earthquake and tsunami procedures in your location.

In my 20 months in Japan, I have felt one small earthquake. It happened at about 2:30 am. All it did was wake me up. I waited for about 20 seconds and it stopped.

The Jets I know up north seem to feel them more often though.

I have significant experience with earthquakes in Japan. Feel free to PM me if you're actually really worried. I will share some insight with anyone for whom earthquakes are a concern.
    車庫 B1F