Thread: Kumon - anyone tried it?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Kumon - anyone tried it?

Hey all,

Has anyone tried the Japanese language course from Kumon? How is it? I'm thinking of giving it a go but finding reviews online is proving a little difficult.

Default Re: Kumon - anyone tried it?

I'm just going to try it myself. I'll report my findings in due course.

So I've started Kumon! It's pretty good so far, I got 100 worksheets to do with a CD and I really feel like I am learning! If anyone has any questions about it please ask me.

Do they start from the beginning? How do they decide where to start you at?

They send you a placement test. You can start from scratch if you tell them you're an absolute beginner when you apply.
    I feel like I was placed pretty well!

It looks like the OP has already started the program, but I will give my two cents for anyone else who is curious about it.

I was looking for a tutor for math since my Calculus abilities sucked in high school (and continues to suck to this day). My dad heard about Kumon through a friend, so we stopped by our local center and signed up after taking a placement test. Since I was interested in learning Japanese anyway, I signed up for that too. As the OP stated, you take a placement test to see where you should continue your lessons. If you have absolutely no knowledge of Japanese (and I mean, if you can't write hiragana or a little katakana and kanji and you only know how to say a couple of phrases from watching anime) then you should start from scratch.