Thread: Connections to Establish Prior to and After the Application Deadline

Default Connections to Establish Prior to and After the Application Deadline

Hello everyone! I've been trying to join for some time but the registration problems inhibited me. :P

First off, a little about myself and why I'm here! I'm a JET hopeful who is trying to have the best possible change at being accepted for the 2016-2017 program (but you probably knew that without even reading this!). I've been helping international students with English for 11+ years, just got my TEFL from i-to-i, and just returned from teaching English at a university in Italy for a semester. I feel JET is the next stage in life for me. I have a lot of experience with one-on-one tutoring but I only have my Italian University experience for classroom experience.

I am going to Japan from 1-19 October and was curious what I could do there to help my chances of being accepted. I was thinking to visit some schools and connect with some teachers/professors and maybe even visit CLAIR. Is this advisable? I've heard that during the interview if you can show that you have been networking with current teachers it looks great.

Everyone here knows quite a bit more about this than I do, so I was curious what you guys think!

I'm looking forward to participating around the forum!

Default Re: Connections to Establish Prior to and After the Application Deadline