Thread: JET not the only way to get to Japan...?

Default JET not the only way to get to Japan...?

First off, I'm sorry if this thread is being posted in the wrong category/forum... I've seen the statement in the subject posted most often in this forum which is why i placed it here (mods, feel free to move it if you need to).

I am interested in going to work in Japan. I know that I missed the last round of JET applications/interviews, but I am not necessarily only interested in going over to teach english (though JET would be my first choice for doing so).

My question is this: What other ways/methods are there to secure work for 6 mos/1 year? I have a (so far unused) degree in chemical engineering and I speak a little japanese (2+ years of classes in college). I also speak fluent spanish and a smidge of mandarin (1 year in college).
    A major part of the reason I would like to spend time working in Japan is that I would like to improve my japanese... also not being broke and starting to pay off my school loans would be nice, too.

To those who may be wondering... I have thus far been unable to secure work as a chemical engineer. I am at a loss to explain why. My graduation in 2001 during the economic downturn was probably a factor, but the fact remains that i'm either overeducated and/or underemployed.

Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated.

-kevin

It is in the wrong section, but never mind, it'll be moved soon.

Have a look at the following sites: www.tefl.com and www.eslcafe.com

They both have EFL job listings, and there are plenty of jobs in Japan. Major language schools in Japan are Nova, Aeon, Geos and Berlitz. They all get mixed reviews so do some research on the web first.
    "If you've got [a penis], or access to one, take a good look at it this evening and ask yourself: how can this possibly be the work of a sane God?"