Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Shortlisted, but unsure

Default Shortlisted, but unsure

Hey folks,

I've got a problem. I was shortlisted this year, which is amazing.

That being said, I recently accepted a new job that I start on the sixth, copyediting listicles and shit like that full-time, salary, benefits, etc. I'm a good editor, and it's what I've been doing for a couple years, but I don't love it exactly. It's just decent work. Anyway, the job is 100% work from home. Fully remote. I can travel if I want.

I like teaching, and I've considered pursuing a grad degree in ESL or English education in the future, and I think JET would be a nice segue into that. But also, the editing job is good, steady, solid, and remote.

I'm having a hell of a time choosing between the two. Especially because, as many JETs have said to me, "JET isn't a career." I get that, but it is a way to prepare for the future, right?

How many times does one get the chance to get immersed in another culture this way? I taught English in China for a year and loved it, but I understand it's not real work or real teaching. Also, how many times does one get the opportunity to work fully remote?

So many questions.

Anyway, this has been an impossible decision for me. Any thoughts or advice is appreciated.

Thank you!

Default Re: Shortlisted, but unsure

Could you keep a finger in the pie of the editing stuff on freelance? Depending on placement you might have plenty of time to keep doing editing on the side.

In terms of career if you fancy being a teacher then Jet is a better option than editing clickbait articles from your bedroom. For a future in anything except teaching Jet will be a hindrance.

How old are you? If you're 22, then JET seems like a reasonable choice, but if you're 30, take the real job.