Thread: Aspiring - Am I being realistic?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Aspiring - Am I being realistic?

Hi all,

Newbie here, hope I'm posting this in the right place.

I wanted to ask for some opinions on whether or not I'm being realistic.

Here's my situation: I'm 24, live in Melbourne (Australia), and I want to participate in the JET Programme one day.

I completely tanked high school due to my home situation, which means I got very very low results on my Higher School Certificate, including for Japanese.

I've been independent for 5 years now, and I'm able to study and learn effectively again.

The only Japanese I've retained is Hiragana, Katakana, some basic sentence structure/vocab, no kanji. I've been using an online resource called TextFugu to begin learning again.

I have not yet been to University but hope to either next year or the year after, and so I wanted to ask two questions:

1. Am I going to be too old (29/30) by the time I finish a degree?

2. With my lack of Japanese knowledge at this point, am I being unrealistic?

Thank you, anyone who responds to this, it means a lot. I apologise if I've posted it in the wrong place.

William

Gizmoduck - blatherskite Gizmotech's Avatar

Default Re: Aspiring - Am I being realistic?

Quote Originally Posted by gigaLion View Post
    Hi all,

Newbie here, hope I'm posting this in the right place.

I wanted to ask for some opinions on whether or not I'm being realistic.

Here's my situation: I'm 24, live in Melbourne (Australia), and I want to participate in the JET Programme one day.

I completely tanked high school due to my home situation, which means I got very very low results on my Higher School Certificate, including for Japanese.

I've been independent for 5 years now, and I'm able to study and learn effectively again.